or wait 15 seconds

EPA Authorizes Emergency Waivers In 13 States To Ensure Adequate Fuel Supply

| by Hank Schlesinger

WASHINGTON -- As a result of Harvey's ongoing impact on Gulf Coast-area refineries, and its disruption to the fuel distribution system, the Environmental Protection Agency exercised its emergency fuel waiver authority to help ensure adequate fuel supplies for the South, Southeast and mid-Atlantic.

EPA has waived requirements for reformulated gasoline and low-volatility gasoline through Sept. 15 in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, Texas, Louisiana and the District of Columbia. The waiver authority was exercised under the Clean Air Act and was granted by EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt in coordination with the U.S. Secretary of Energy Rick Perry.

As required by law, the EPA and Department of Energy evaluated the situation and determined that granting a short-term waiver was consistent with public interest. EPA and DOE are actively monitoring fuel supplies in the wake of Hurricane Harvey.

To mitigate any negative effects on air quality, the Clean Air Act provides strict criteria on grants for fuel waivers, and requires that waivers be limited as much as possible in terms of geographic scope and duration.

Go to to learn more.

Topics: Music & Games

Sponsored Links:

Related Content

Latest Content

Get the latest news & insights