NDA Lauds Team Dart 2016 Winners Who Will Represent The U.S. Next Year

Posted On: 6/17/2016

  • Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
  • PDF

TAGS: soft-tip darts, coin-op darts, Amusement and Music Operators Association, National Dart Association, Team Dart, Team USA 2017, Team Dart International Challenge

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Amusement and Music Operators Association's National Dart Association has extended its congratulations to the 16 players whose outstanding performance in the Team Dart 2016 tournament has earned them membership in Team USA 2017. The 2016 face-off was the 31st annual international soft-tip dart tournament organized by NDA. | SEE STORY

These winners will represent the United States in Team Dart's International Challenge, an event that highlights the best players from around the world. Next year's tourney is set for April 20 through 26 at Bally's Las Vegas (NV) Hotel & Casino.

Representing Team USA in the women's category are Tricia Pluff (Maplewood, MN), Carolyn Nessmann (Franklin, WI), Julie Weger (Peoria, IL) and Holly Thompson (Indianapolis, IN). The alternates are Amy Borland (Dix, IL), Wendy Espinoza (Owatonna, MN), Heidi Raines (Spirit Lake, IA) and Lisa Yee (Phoenix).

The U.S. men's unit will include Willard Bruguier (Pickstown, SD), Ben Dersch (Janesville, WI), Jeremiah Millar (Plainfield, IN) and Leonard Gates (San Antonio, TX). The alternates are Eric Blackledge (St. Louis, MO), Scott Ferrian (Albertville, MN), Scott Kirchner (Janesville, WI) and Randy Van Deursen (Lindenhurst, IL).

Team USA's 2017 men's lineup will be defending the 2016 title, as the Americans prevailed this year in a final match against Germany.

Team USA was selected on the basis of the best performances at Team Dart 2016, turned in by U.S. players who participated in masters events. The top four were ranked based on their points per dart (PPD) in "-01" games and marks per round (MPR) in "cricket" matches.

NDA was formed in 1986 by members of the Amusement and Music Operators Association who saw the benefit that organized league play had conferred on other coin-op sports games. They were confident that a soft-tip electronically scored dart league organization would confer benefits on coin-operated vending companies and their player patrons, primarily by increasing the number of darters. Today, NDA has members from eight countries, sanctions more than 56,000 players annually and has dart leagues in over 10,000 locations worldwide.