EVA Taps Jürgen Göbel To Chair Electronic Payment Committee

Posted On: 6/17/2016

  • Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
  • PDF

TAGS: European Vending Association, Ingenico, Jürgen Göbel, EVA, Electronic Payment Committee, Alain Huc, cashless vending, vending Electronic Payment Specification, vending machine payment systems

BRUSSELS -- The European Vending Association reports that Ingenico's Jürgen Göbel is the new chairman of EVA's Electronic Payment Committee. He succeeds Alain Huc in the post.

Göbel is a longtime contributor to the EVA, and has been an active member of the committee. He served as chairman of its predecessor group, the Cashless Committee, from 2007 to 2011, during which time it introduced the Cashless Vending Specification. CVS served as the guideline for the current Electronic Payment Specification.

Göbel presided at the first EPC meeting of the year, which was held here on March 16. He explained that he has some ideas and initiatives to present to the committee, and is looking forward to working with its members to help "transfer vending to the digital age." The industry veteran brings extensive experience to the task, having worked from 2002 to 2011 for Thalès/Hypercom/Verifone, and from 2011 to 2015 for Deutsche Telekom.

Jürgen paid tribute to his predecessor, Alain Huc, also of Ingenico. After more than three decades in the vending industry's payment segment and four years of chairing the committee, Huc attended his last EPC meeting before he retires this summer. EVA director-general Erwin Wetzel thanked him for his strong contribution to the association over the past 15 years.