Thursday, November 23, 2017 | Today's Vending Industry News
Electronic Darters Compete For $500K In NDA's 2014 Team Dart

Posted On: 6/2/2014

  • Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
  • PDF

TAGS: Team Dart 29, 2014 Team Dart, coin-op darts, soft-tip darts, electronic dartboard, Amusement and Music Operators Association, National Dart Association, NDA soft-tip dart tournament, Nancy Hodges, Reggie Horak, Lloyd Williamson, Bobby Hogin; Sam Zammuto, Arachnid Inc.

LAS VEGAS -- Bally's Las Vegas Hotel and Casino was the setting for the 2014 Team Dart finals organized by the Amusement and Music Operators Association-National Dart Association. The 29th annual international soft-tip dart tournament was conducted from April 25 through May 3.

This year, Team Dart received more than 10,000 event entries from players across five countries who competed for more than $500,000 in prize money. About 140 operator members of NDA sent players to the 2014 tournament.

To qualify for Team Dart entry, a contestant must be sanctioned by NDA and play at least 96 league games in a specified period for the NDA-member operating company that enters the player in the tournament.

Contestants had the option of participating in as many as 10 events during the nine-day tournament. There were seven main events in the singles category, nine in the doubles grouping and four in the triples.

Team Dart, NDA Darts, coin-op
photo | LET THE GAMES BEGIN: Soft-tip dart experts throng Bally's Las Vegas Hotel & Casino for 29th Team Dart international tournament, organized by the AMOA-National Dart Association. Players from five nations competed.

The International Challenge at this year's Team Dart featured teams from Canada, France, Germany and Spain, as well as the United States. They competed on April 30 to win, among other things, "international bragging rights" for the coming year. The USA women's team took first place in a fiercely contested duel with Germany, and the USA men's team triumphed in a hard-fought struggle with France.

Final results for the 2014 International Challenge were, for the women's teams, U.S., 1st place; Germany, 2nd place; Spain, 3rd place; France, 4th place; and Canada, 5th place. For the men's teams, the final standings were U.S., 1st place; France, 2nd place; Germany, 3rd place; Canada, 4th place; and Spain, 5th place.

NDA extended special thanks to Dart Master's Mike Bates (Phoenix), who sponsored Team USA at the tournament.

Top overall money winners for the event were Stefanie Richter, entered by DSAB-EV (Waldalgesheim, Germany), and Ben Dersch, entered by Midstate Amusement (Fond du Lac, WI).


The best shooters in each level in Team Cricket and Team 501, with a minimum of 24 games played during the tournament, receive Top Gun awards.

This year's Top Gun recipients for Open Team 501 are Darryl Gabriel (masters), entered by Red's Novelty (South Milwaukee, WI); Ric Smith (level 1), by Advance Service Inc. (Kansas City, MO); Steven Richardson, (level 2) Dartz Alpha (Largo, FL); Shane Cade (level 3), City Amusement Enterprises (Logan, OH); Trevor Fedewa (level 4), Dolphin Coin Inc. (Mt. Pleasant, MI); and Josh Schafer (level 5), Dolphin Coin Inc. (Mt. Pleasant, MI).

For Open Team Cricket, they are Willard Bruguier (masters), entered by Automatic Vendors/Music Service (Pickstown, SD); Cory Tkach (level 1), by Aactive Coin Machines (Winnipeg, MB, Canada); Pat Looney (level 2), City Amusement Enterprises (Portsmouth, OH); Shane Cade (level 3), City Amusement Enterprises (Logan, OH); Greg Madera (level 4), Rabbit Darts (Lincoln Park, MI); and Kendall Noel (level 5), BK Enterprises Inc. (Abilene, KS).

During the Team Dart President's Reception, NDA inducted Nancy Hodges and Reggie Horak into the NDA Hall of Fame. NDA president Lloyd Williamson, presented them with Hall of Fame awards and said their contributions to the NDA are invaluable and deserve permanent recognition. | SEE STORY

NDA also thanked its sponsors for their continued support. Receiving awards in honor of their efforts were AMOA president Bobby Hogin; Sam Zammuto of Arachnid Inc., Vilim Vidanec of Cyberdine d.o.o., Ruben Funosas of Gaelco Darts S.L., Helmut Schneller of NSM-Löwen Entertainment and Adam Lipinski of Shelti/Gold Standard Games. The dartboard manufacturer sponsors provided 312 games for the tournament.

The hard work and dedication of the Team Dart Tournament Committee, administrative and tournament staff, setup crew and NDA-certified referees was also recognized. This year's tournament committee members were Alvin Gerlach, Reggie Horak, Maggie Jones, Cora Mahoney, Bernie Marsh, Dawn Orloff-Niesen and Robert Tolliver.

The NDA is an international trade association of coin-operated vending companies representing approximately 250 members and 48,000 players worldwide. The NDA was formed by and for coin machine operators to promote the sport of electronic darting exclusively on operator-owned equipment. Information about NDA membership, the annual International Team Dart competition or the biennial League SMART educational conference may be requested from associate executive director Kim Paugh at (800) 808-9884. Visit

Team Dart 2015 will be the 30th anniversary staging of the international tournament. It will return to Bally's Las Vegas from May 1 through 9.