Monday, January 22, 2018 | Today's Vending Industry News
AAMA Members Assemble Near Chicago For 2012 Board Meeting And Gala Exhibits

Posted On: 8/14/2012

  • Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
  • PDF

TAGS: American Amusement Machine Association, AAMA Distributor Gala, amusement machine, arcade game, coin-op game, coin machine, jukebox, pinball machine, Joe Robbins Award, Bill Glasgow, W.T. Glasgow Inc., David Cohen, Firestone Financial, John Margold, AMI Entertainment, Sega, John Schultz

LISLE, IL -- The American Amusement Machine Association held its annual membership and board meeting in conjunction with its Distributor Gala, an equipment exhibit, here from Aug. 6 to 10.

Last week's Distributor Gala at the Wyndham Lisle hotel and conference center west of Chicago put the spotlight on two dozen new games. Before the Gala exhibits opened on the evening of Aug. 9, new product presentations were held throughout the day. The presentations covered new games and services from Sega Amusements, BMI Merchandise, Andamiro USA, Gold Standard Games (formerly Shelti), Global VR and Raw Thrills.

The AAMA bestowed the Joe Robbins Award, the association's highest honor, on its longtime trade show manager and advisor Bill Glasgow of W.T. Glasgow Inc., who announced his retirement this summer. The association's staff presented the AAMA President's Award to David Cohen of Firestone Financial Corp., who is a past chairman.

During the Gala's ceremonial program, AAMA's charity arm, the American Amusement Machine Charitable Foundation, awarded donations of $5,000 each to Kids Enjoy Exercise Now and the Children's Miracle Network. The AAMCF also announced recent contributions totaling $25,000 to other children's causes supported by Ray Galante, Jerry Gordon, Steve Lieberman and Chuck Milhem, four amusement industry veterans who had previously contributed to and worked on be half of AAMCF.

At this year's AAMA meeting, John Margold of AMI Entertainment completed the first year of his two-year elected term as the amusement association's chairman. The association elected five industry officials to its 17-member of board of directors. Reelected to the board are Rich Babich, Game Exchange of Colorado; Neal Rosenberg, Elaut USA; and Allen Weisberg, Apple Industries. First-time elected board members are Eugene Jarvis, Raw Thrills, and Bill Kraft, Shaffer Distributing Co. Standing by as alternates are Coastal Amusements' Sal Mirando, a former AAMA Show Committee chairman, and Sureshot Redemption's Sondra Doyle.

Officers continuing to serve another year under Margold are Peter Gustafson, Sega, vice-chairman; Rich Babich, treasurer; Chris Felix, MEI, assistant treasurer; Frank Cosentino, Namco, secretary; and Neal Rosenberg, assistant secretary.

Founded in 1981, AAMA is an international nonprofit trade organization representing manufacturers, distributors and parts suppliers involved in the coin-operated amusement industry. Its board of directors, elected by its members, governs the association and committees. It works with association staff to develop programs that promote and protect the industry. AAMA president John Schultz recently renewed his contract with the association. | SEE STORY

Membership growth and value are priorities for Schultz. "We now have 130 members, and have increased membership by 30% over the past three years," he reported.

Bill Glasgow, AAMA

PALMS AND PRAISES: Bill Glasgow, the 2012 Joe Robbins Award recipient, shares stage with, from left, AAMA's John Schultz, John Margold and Frank Cosentino. Glasgow managed and advised AAMA's trade show program since 1985.

David Cohen, AAMA

ACCOLADES: Firestone Financial president David Cohen, a past chairman of AAMA, accepts President's Award, presented here by association staffers Jennifer Anker, Tina Schwartz and John Schultz.

KEEN, Kate Hurson, AAMA

GOOD WORK! AAMA president John Schultz (l.) and AAMCF chairman Rich Babich present $5,000 check to K.E.E.N. executive director Kate Hurson. AAMA is K.E.E.N.'s longest supporter, contributing to the children's charity for 19 years.