365 Retail Markets’ Chief Joe Hessling Is EY Entrepreneur Of The Year In Michigan And NW Ohio

Posted On: 7/9/2018

  • Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
  • PDF

TROY, MI -- EY selected Joe Hessling, chief executive of 365 Retail Markets as the winner of its Entrepreneur of The Year 2018 Award in the Business Services category in Michigan and Northwest Ohio.

BEST OF THE BEST: Rick Hampson, president Citizens Bank Michigan, honors 365 Retail Markets’ Joe Hessling as EY  Entrepreneur of the Year in Michigan and northwest Ohio at gala event at Detroit Institute of Art in late June.

The award recognizes entrepreneurs who are excelling in areas such as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. Hessling was selected by an independent panel of judges, and the award was presented at a special gala event at the Detroit Institute of Art on June 27.

The Entrepreneur of the Year Award was established by international professional services titan Ernst & Young in 1986. That company rebranded as EY in 2013. The first award was made in Milwaukee, WI; the program has grown steadily, and now honors entrepreneurial achievement in all 50 states and 60 nations worldwide.
“The competition was really tough this year and I was truly surprised to hear my name called as a winner,” said Hessling. “A big thank you to the judges and the EY team that supported me through this process. Also, I have nothing but praise for what got me here in the first place: the hardworking 365 team!”

As a Michigan and Northwest award winner, Hessling is now eligible for consideration for the Entrepreneur of the Year 2018 National Awards. Award winners in several national categories, as well as the Entrepreneur Of The Year National Overall Award winner, will be announced at the Entrepreneur Of The Year National Awards gala in Palm Springs, California, on Nov. 10. The awards are the culminating event of the Strategic Growth Forum, a gathering of high-growth, market-leading companies.

Now in its 32nd year, the program has honored the inspirational leadership of such entrepreneurs as Howard Schultz of Starbucks Corp.; Pierre Omidyar of eBay Inc.; Jodi Berg of Vitamix; Robert Unanue of Goya Foods; Reid Hoffman and Jeff Weiner of LinkedIn; Andreas Bechtolsheim and Jayshree Ullal of Arista Networks; Hamdi Ulukaya of Chobani; James Park of Fitbit; and J.W. “Bill” Marriott, Jr. of Marriott International Inc.